Is there a relationship between my poetry and psychosis?

You can tell me I’m crazy

Tell me I’m mad

Tell me I’m hazy

a lot or a tad.

because I know psychosis

is  just a fad

writing_poetry“The idea that ‘genius’ is just one step removed from ‘madness’ is a venerable one, and psychiatrists and psychologists have spent a great (perhaps an inordinate) amount of time looking for correlations between mental illness and creativity.”

“Now a new British study has examined whether poets exhibit more traits of psychosis than other people.”

“The researchers recruited 294 poets in an anonymous online survey; 92% of them had published their work. On the O-LIFE questionnaire, a self-report measure of psychotic symptoms, the poets scored above average on the “Unusual Experiences”, “Cognitive Disorganization” and “Impulsive Nonconformity” traits.

You can call me impulsive

Tell me I’m mental

a fig I don’t give

about being a yentl*

 Mad genius eludes me

Cognitively disorganized ?

now THAT could be

“Furthermore, poets who described their work as  ‘avant-garde’ scored even higher on “Unusual Experiences” and on a questionnaire of mood disorder symptoms.”

“Rates of self-reported mental illnesses were also high

two poets (0.7%) reported schizophrenia, 15 reported bipolar disorder (5.1%), 152 reported depression (51.7%) and 80 reported anxiety disorder (27.2%).

Although actually these percentages are not that much higher than we see in the general population.”

“So it seems as though poets are more prone to psychosis – or at least, they think that they are. All of the traits were self-reported. Could it be that poets, having internalized the ‘mad genius’ archetype, are more prone to describe themselves in those terms?”

Article: Is there a relationship between poetry and psychosis?

*yentl
Extremely gullible person, one who will believe absolutely anything.

 

2 comments on “Is there a relationship between my poetry and psychosis?

Click on "LIKE" to let us know you visited. Comments HERE!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.